INTERNATIONAL MEN’S MONTH: MEN LEADING BY EXAMPLE – THE INTERVIEW SERIES- MR ARIBA SIMI

IMG_20151201_100253-1
Mr. Ariba Simi | Renewable Energy Consultant, CCTV Expert and CEO of Lighthausengr

 

Early this year in March, I decided to run an interview series for the International Women’s Month where I got to interview women from various sectors who have contributed one way or the other to the society. Throughout the series, I kept getting messages from readers saying they would also be interested in reading the Men’s Edition of the Interview Series.  To accomplish this, sometimes last month, I reached out to some of the men I admire and look up to in the society in a bid to interview them for the series and the last person I would be interviewing is Mr Ariba Simi

Please, tell the readers your name, what you do/ your area of Expertise?

  • My name is Ariba Simi I’m an entrepreneur who’s into sales, maintenance and installation of renewable energy products; solar panels, batteries and inverters.

2. Can you tell us more about what you do and how long you have been involved in what you do?

  • I’m in the renewable energy sector and it’s a budding sector in Nigerian because most of us have refused to tap into it and I have been involved for the last three years.

3. Tell us about your entrepreneurial venture; how did you come up with the idea/ how did you start your business or what you are involved in?

  • I had just finished my National Service year and my dad brought up the whole renewable energy idea. I went for the training in that regard and the rest is history now.

4. It is the International Men’s Day/Month which is a platform to raise awareness to the challenges that men face in life. As a Man, what are the major challenges men face in your line of work and society at large?

  • In my line of work the major challenges are Trust and Funds and in the society at large men are scared to fail.

5. Is there any way you have contributed to men’s development in your community, society/line of work? Are there any male role models you look up to?

  •  I have taken it upon myself to train young men in my area of speciality so they can become self-reliant. Presently, I don’t have a role model as such.

6. International Men’s Day/Month is an occasion to focus on salient issues unique to men’s experiences, one of which is the issue of toxic masculinity which is the adherence to traditional/ cultural norms that are associated with harm to society and
men themselves. What is your take on this issue and how can it be addressed?

  • For me, I don’t even believe in it. I’m my own culture and I don’t follow all those rules because this is 2019 and the world is a global village. We need to pick up cultures and values that are not harmful to us.

7. According to the World Health Organization, Suicides are without a doubt among the top 20 causes of death worldwide and the second leading cause of mortality among people aged 20-35 with around three times as many men taking their own lives compared to women. In your opinion, what preventive measures can be taken in this regard?

  • Suicidal tendencies needs to be tackled from the home first. Parents and siblings need to be more sensitive, be aware of any change in behaviour and learn to show love to one and another. The society, on the other hand, needs to take mental health more seriously especially in this day and age.

8. What do you do for encouragement or to be motivated?

  • The fear of failure is enough motivation to get me going. I hate to fail at anything I’m doing.

9. Generally, delicate issues like rape, domestic abuse, sexual exploitations etc and the fact that men are also victims are not always easily raised in the society. From a man’s perspective, what is your take on this and how do you think it can be addressed?

  • For me, men need to speak up more about experiences than just swallow it in and think it’s only women who should talk.Also on the part of government stiffer penalties should be made for rapist

10. Any nuggets from your experience for young boys and men aspiring to impact society one way or the other?

  • Never Eat your Seed Money.

    It was my Nysc savings I used to start my business 3 years ago. I had initially planned to head to Dubai for the holiday with my savings from NYSC but my dad refused and said Never eat your seed money. I’m happy I listened to him.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.